The bill requires the majority of Oregon employers to provide up to 40 hours of sick leave per year to employees beginning January 1, 2016.
Oregon has become the fourth state, after Connecticut, California, and Massachusetts, to mandate that employers provide their employees sick leave benefits. Oregon passed legislation that requires the majority of employers with 10 or more employees to provide up to 40 hours a year of paid sick leave. The law applies to full-time and part-time hourly, salaried, commissioned and piece rate employees, and home care employees who receive payment from the Oregon Department of Human Services. Those excluded from the new law include independent contractors, employees who receive paid sick leave under federal law, certain work-training or work-study programs, and children employed by their parents.
Before the law goes into effect, it is important for employers to review their current sick leave policies to determine whether or not they will need to make changes to comply by the beginning of 2016.
In This Seminar We Covered:
- Overview of the new law/key dates
- Eligibility and who is impacted
- Notice and reporting requirements
- Enforcement and administration by BOLI
- Best practices for compliance and employer checklist
- Case Study
Speaker: Chandra Hatfield, Attorney Partner of Peck Rubanoff & Hatfield PC, received her law degree, Cum Laude, from Willamette University College of Law and is licensed to practice in both Oregon and Washington. Chandra’s career has been focused on the exclusive representation of public and private employers of all sizes in labor and employment matters. Chandra is experienced in providing training to managers, supervisors, employer groups and local human resource associations to increase their knowledge of local risks and obligations in the workplace.